Skip page navigation

image of libraries

About trial databases

These electronic resources have been made available to the Claremont Colleges on a temporary basis (varying from 1 month to 1 year). These trials allow the Libraries to assess their importance to our Students, Faculty and Staff. The level of use each one receives helps us to make decisions regarding future subscriptions or purchases. If you find one of these resources to be useful for your teaching or research, please let us know (be specific!) and tell a friend or colleague.

Trial Databases

Book Review Digest Plus
  • Indexes 109 principal book-review-containing periodicals, including major newspapers and general-interest magazines, as well as book review journals like Booklist, Choice, and Kirkus.
  • 1983 – present.
  • Includes book reviews from 11 other Wilson Full Text databases, including Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education, General Science, Humanities, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Wilson Business.
  • Reviews appear as citations, excerpts, or full text, depending upon their occurrence in the source database.
  • Coverage ranges from mainstream publishing into research, academic, and specialty publishing across every major discipline and brings the number of reviews up to 1,300,000, representing over half a million books.
  • Tip: Add Book Review Digest Retro to add coverage from 1905-1982.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
  • Provides access to a full text collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from 1500 to 1900.
  • Great for finding primary source documents to support advanced research on women and women's issues from the Early Modern period through the 19th Century. Valuable in all disciplines.
Current Protocols in Pharmacology
  • Covers the full range of molecular, cellular, physiological, and chemical techniques used for the discovery and development of novel therapeutics.
  • Presents state-of-the-art techniques for high-throughput screening methods, including FLIPR, receptor-binding assays, enzyme assays, and an array of preclinical models of disease.
  • Offers topical guideline overviews for assessment of drug efficacy and side effect liability, supported with appropriate protocols used by the industry.
  • Updated every 3 months, at about 500 pages per year (2/3 new, 1/3 revised).
Current Protocols in Protein Science
  • Provides protein scientists, biochemists, molecular biologists, geneticists, and others with the first comprehensive suite of protocols for this growing field.
  • Provides "best-practices" methodologies for expression, characterization, and purification of recombinant proteins, plus post-translational modification and structural characterization.
  • Suitable for expert protein researchers and scientists with little prior experience in protein isolation and characterization, including scientists trained in other biological disciplines.
EastView Russian UDB-EDU
  • Formally known as the Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals (w/ Voprosy istorii backfile), this package provides a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals.
  • Comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications.
  • New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively.
  • Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.
International Medieval Bibliography
  • A comprehensive cataloguing and indexing system, using multilingual terminology defined by professional medievalists for medievalists. A truly "international" and interdisciplinary bibliography for the Middle Ages, covering publications in over 30 languages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400–1500.
  • To enter, click the "Enter databases" button, then the database's "Go" button.
  • Good for journal article citations for these disciplines: Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communications Studies.
  • The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues.
PsycEXTRA
  • Content Type: Fully indexed bibliographic records and full text of professional literature: annual reports, conference papers and abstracts, consumer brochures, curricula, directories, fact sheets, grant information, newsletters, pamphlets, policy statements, research reports, standards, videos, and white papers. Citations to newspapers and popular magazines are also included.
  • Subject Coverage: psychology, behavioral science, health.
  • There is no overlap between PsycEXTRA and PsycINFO content.
  • Content quality: though not peer reviewed, only sources deemed 'credible' by the American Psychological Associations PsychInfo section are included. "Knowledgeable APA managers review all content for relevance, significance, and quality."
  • Collection size & currency: 90,000 items (as of 12/2006) predicted to grow at +30,000 per year, updated biweekly.
  • More info (includes list of content providers).
Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
  • Selected social science data for analysis.
  • Topics include family, AIDS/STD, adolescent pregnancy/pregnancy prevention, aging, disability, child welfare and poverty, maternal drug abuse and complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Provides an online data analysis system and teaching modules.
  • Emphasis on domestic policy issues.
SocINDEX with Full Text
  • SocINDEX covers a broad spectrum of sociological topics, including criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, social work, and substance abuse.
  • SocINDEX includes close to 2 million records from more than 800 "core" journals and more than 3000 other journals. The database also includes indexing for selective books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content. Indexing for some material begins in the late 1800s.
  • Full text is included for 397 "core" journals and 150 "priority" journals. Full text is also included for selected books, monographs and conference papers.

Last updated: 9/6/2007 6:03:40 PM