Databases: History

This is a list of databases for research in the subject of History. If you do not find what you are looking for try browsing by title:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
  • Legend:
  • Go to database;
  • Honnold/Mudd-only;
  • Trial database;
  • By appointment only

Secondary Scholarly Research


America: History and Life Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the culture and history of United States and Canada. » more info...

Historical Abstracts Citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 AD to present. » more info...

L'Année philologique Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work on ancient Greek and Latin-related subjects concerning the period from the second millennium B.C. to 500-800 A.D. Works best with Internet Explorer. » more info...

Dyabola Citations of articles from publications covering archaeology and culture from "prehistory" to the early middle ages. » more info...

International Medieval Bibliography Covers publications in over 30 languages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400–1500. To enter, click the "Enter databases" button, then the database's "Go" button. » more info...

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Major interdisciplinary source for scholarly materials about the Middle Ages and Renaissance. » more info...

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Citations for scholarly books, journal articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the history of science and technology. » more info...

Women and Social Movements in the United States Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. » more info...

Women's Studies International Scholarly citations for books and articles on gender and women's studies. » more info...

HeinOnline Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals, international and US treaties, out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register, and Supreme Court slip opinions. » more info...

Periodicals Index Online Selected citations for articles from a wide range of American and European periodicals. » more info...

Primary Research


Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. » more info...

Patrologia Latina Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. » more info...

Past Masters Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). » more info...

Early English Books Online More than 96,000 early printed works in English. » more info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. » more info...

Eighteenth Century Journals A collection of 17th and 18th century British newspapers and periodicals. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas. » more info...

Defining Gender, 1450 – 1910 Five centuries of advice literature for men and women. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries History of Parliament Full text with illustrations of the History of Parliament, a source that covers the workings of the British parliaments between 1386 and 1820. Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Describes works printed in England or its dependencies in any language as well as works printed in English anywhere in the world from 1473 to 1800. » more info...

Times Digital Archive 1785–1985 (The Times of London) Provides full page digital reproductions with article images (and PDFs) from the complete paper, with coverage from 1785-1985, including ads and graphics, with searchable full text back to the first issue. » more info...

Palmer's Index to the London Times Citations for articles from The Times Newspaper of London. » more info...

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online Primary documents related to women's history, 1543-1945. » more info...

Historical Statistics of the United States Covers the entire history of the US in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country. » more info...

Papers of George Washington Digital Edition Digitized version of the first 52 volumes of the print volumes. » more info...

Dolley Madison Digital Edition Complete correspondence of the most important First Lady of the nineteenth century. » more info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800). » more info...

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). » more info...

Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) Complete runs of approximately 171 newspapers from 24 states. Upon completion the series will have 1000-1200 newspapers. » more info...

American Periodical Series (APS) Online Full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism. » more info...

LexisNexis Congressional Citations with abstracts to hearings, committee prints, reports and documents issued by Congress since 1969, full-text links to bill files, reports, and witness testimony. See "more info" for Hearings and other components. » more info...

U.S. Serial Set
SEE LexisNexis Congressional
Provides full text access to a comprehensive collection of U.S Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. To access it click on Historical Full Text. » more info...

African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century Full-text of articles from major African American newspapers published in the United States in the 19th century » more info...

Ethnic Newswatch Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. » more info...

Historical New York Times Provides full page digital reproductions and article images from the New York Times, from 1851 to 2003. » more info...

Historical Los Angeles Times Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881. Upon completion (with a projected date of 2006), the database will include the complete contents of the LA Times through 1984. » more info...

HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early Reconstruction Full text of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late 19th Century America. » more info...

Periodicals Index Online Selected citations for articles from a wide range of American and European periodicals. » more info...

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries Provides access to a full text collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from 1500 to 1900. » more info...

Women and Social Movements in the United States Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. » more info...

Keesing's World News Archives Provides comprehensive and concise stories on world events since 1931. » more info...

HeinOnline Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals, international and US treaties, out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register, and Supreme Court slip opinions. » more info...

AP Images Contains more than 500,000 images from the Associated Press current collections and archives. » more info...

Other Databases Useful to Historians


ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Scholarly citations for books and articles on religion and religious studies. » more info...

Philosopher's Index Citations for scholarly books and journal articles in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. » more info...

Art Full Text Citations for articles and images from over 250 international arts periodicals, with full text in selected journals beginning in 1997. Includes Art Index Retrospective, with indexing back to 1929. » more info...

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) Citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, linguistics and folklore. » more info...

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications. » more info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Citations for articles in more than 300 political science and government journals. » more info...

Academic Search Premier A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. » more info...

OmniFile Indexing, abstracts, and available full text in a range of subject areas: business, education, science, humanities, social sciences. » more info...

Popular


Historical Los Angeles Times Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881. Upon completion (with a projected date of 2006), the database will include the complete contents of the LA Times through 1984. » more info...

Readers Guide Retrospective (OmniFile) Citations for popular articles from over 250 major magazines and periodicals, 1890-present. » more info...

LexisNexis Academic Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories. » more info...

Los Angeles Times, The Complete full-text content of local and regional news (1985-present). » more info...

Last updated: 8/8/2007 5:25:44 PM